Mewbourne Leadership Scholars

Mewbourne Leadership Scholars Annual Luncheon

On Wednesday, October 21, MPGE faculty and staff joined representatives from Mewbourne Oil Company to recognize and applaud the twenty-one Mewbourne Leadership Scholars within our program. Scholars are selected for this distinguished honor through an application and interview process as incoming freshman. Recipients receive an annual, renewable scholarship of $4,000 a year for up to four years, which will increase by $1,000 each year; recognition as a Mewbourne School of Petroleum and Geological Engineering Scholar; and regular interaction with industry leaders, other Mewbourne Scholars, and professional engineers engaged in various aspects of the energy industry. Scholars must demonstrate a strong academic record, a balance of activities, community involvement, leadership ability and experience and an understanding and commitment to the oil and gas industry. The luncheon is an annual event that brings together all scholars and their families to celebrate their achievements. This years scholars include: Jacob Gilreath (SR), Kale White (SR), Broghan Grider (SR), Aaron Murray (SR), Nick Stowers (SR), Austin Walters (SR), Caleb Crawford (JR), Aaron Massie (JR), Reed Scroggs (JR), Grady Smith (JR), Alex Van Noord (JR), Makenzie Allen (SO), Samuel Davis (SO), Lucas Ninman (SO), Blayne Norman (SO), Steve Reiley (SO), Justin Sanders (SO), Landon Wright (SO), Kolton Anderson (FR), John Kantowski (FR) and Gage Owen (FR). A total of $119,000 has been awarded to Mewbourne Leadership Scholars for the 2015-16 school year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *