Gaylord College recognizes three as Distinguished Alumni

2014 JayMac Distinguished Alumni
Daryle Voss, JayMac President; Mary Livermore Bush and Ed Livermore, Jr.; Gaylord College Dean Joe Foote; Stephanie Frederic; and Dean Blevins at the 2014 JayMac Distinguished Alumni awards at Gaylord College.

The JayMac Alumni Association of the University of Oklahoma’s Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication recognized three graduates with the 2014 Distinguished Alumni award: Dean Blevins, News 9 sports director; Stephanie Frederic, producer and owner of FGW Productions and Transmedia in Los Angeles; and, Ed Livermore, Sr., Oklahoma community newspaper pioneer. Mr. Livermore passed in April and his family will receive his award.

The JayMac Distinguished Alumni award is bestowed annually upon alumni who have distinguished themselves and their organizations with outstanding careers.

About the Award Winners

Dean Blevins
Class of 1978, Journalism

Dean Blevins has held the position of NEWS 9 Sports Director since 2001 and has more than 30 years of broadcast experience in the state of Oklahoma. Blevins is a two-time Emmy Award winner and has been voted the Oklahoma Sportscaster of the Year eight times by the National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association.

Blevins has announced college football and basketball games for 25 years, including 14 years for CBS, ABC and ESPN. Beginning in 1985, Blevins has hosted coaches TV and radio shows for Oklahoma coaches including Barry Switzer, Bob Stoops, Jerry Jones, and Eddie Sutton.

Blevins anchors NEWS 9 Sports weekdays and can also be seen co-anchoring the statewide “Oklahoma Sports Blitz” every Sunday night. He has earned a top spot in the pro league of Oklahoma sports broadcasters. In addition to his television broadcasts, he is a co-host of the popular weekday drive-time radio show, “The Total Dominance Hour” on The Sports Animal in Oklahoma City and has hosted his own website since 1990.

Stephanie Frederic
Class of 1982, Radio/TV/Film

Emmy award-winning broadcast journalist Stephanie Frederic is the owner of FGW Productions & Transmedia. Frederic has been recognized seven times by the National Association of Black Journalists with its distinguished Salute to Excellence Award. Other professional honors have come from the California RTNDA, The Houston Press Club, The Houston International Film Festival, The San Francisco Human Rights Commission, The Sabaoth International Film Festival in Milan and the Turks and Caicos and Redemptive Film Festivals.

Starting in 1988, Stephanie was a familiar face as a network news correspondent for Black Entertainment TV. She spent two decades in the industry working for King World Production’s Inside Edition, American Journal and a host of other local stations around the country including KRON- San Francisco (NBC), KRIV-Houston (FOX), KWTV-Oklahoma City (CBS) and KLAX, Alexandria, Louisiana.

Ed Livermore, Sr.
Class of 1940, Journalism, awarded posthumously

Ed Livermore, Sr. was a lifelong newspaperman starting out while in high school at the Hobart Democrat-Chief cleaning the shop and delivering papers. Livermore married his college sweetheart Melba and the two worked side-by-side buying and operating numerous small town newspapers throughout Oklahoma.

Livermore was a long-time champion of the importance of small town newspapers, in 1972 became the first Oklahoman to serve as president of the National Newspaper Association, largest newspaper organization in the country with 6,000 member newspapers. He was the most active president in NNA history, touring the country on behalf of the organization. He also was past president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1959-60). Over the years, the Livermores owned four state newspapers (Claremore Daily Progress, Catoosa Times Herald, Sapulpa Daily Herald and The Edmond Sun-Booster) and publishers of The Progress from 1947 to 1959. They also owned the Sapulpa radio station.

One comment

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>