Gaylord College ranked top in the nation by the Broadcast Education Awards

NORMAN, OK – Students and faculty in the Gaylord College at the University of Oklahoma have won 19 awards in the Broadcast Education Association’s Festival of Media Arts, more than any university in the nation. The awards were presented in Las festivallogo-2ja09chVegas on April 13. The Festival of Media Arts is the largest awards competition in the video and broadcast education fields, more than 150 colleges and universities submitted 1,300 entries. Gaylord College won more than 15 percent of all awards given.

OU students also won both of the Best of Festival awards in the video category, denoting the top productions of all of the video entries. Two broadcast programs, “OU Nightly,” a daily newscast, and “Sooner Sports Pad,” a weekly sports program broadcast on Fox Sports Southwest, finished among the top three in the nation.

In the faculty category, Professor Scott Hodgson won the Best of Competition Award for his video, “It’s the Music,” and Professor Kyle Bergersen received two Awards of Excellence for his projects, “Red State Blues” and “Welcome to My World of Compromise.”

Inspiring, creative difference-makers in journalism and mass communication for more than 100 years, the Gaylord College is the college that connects creative minds to meaningful careers.


Student Video

Best of Festival, (Animation/Experimental), Katie Wingfield & Lindsay Webster, Why I Love Teenage Girls

Best of Festival, (Spots Category), Jason Gwynn, Unilever

1st Place, Instructional/Educational, Sara Groover & Nick Szabo, Sooner Flight Academy

1st Place, Promotional, Spencer Wehde, Garrett Fox, Brooke Adcock & Pablo Fernandez, Rowing

2nd Place, Promotional, Gaylord Hall Productions Team, More Than Just a Student

2nd Place, Music Video, Paige Powell, With You Now

3rd Place, Promotional, Janelle Barrick, Max Bevan, Lindsay Webster & Miguel McCallum, OU Men’s Golf

3rd Place, Spots, Gaylord Hall Broadcast Advertising Team, Mary Kay

Honorable Mention, Spots, Janelle Barrick & Tripp Lopez, No More Excuses



2nd place, TV Sports Talent , Taylor Newcomb, Taylor Newcomb Sports Talent

3rd Place (tie), TV Sports News Program, Heather Healy, Olivia McKennon & Taylor Newcomb, Sooner Sports Pad

Honorable Mention, TV Sports Story / Feature, Nick Jules, Racing for the Cure

Honorable Mention, TV Sports Talent, Mason Prince, Mason Prince Sports Talent



3rd Place, TV Newscast (4 or 5 days), Lauren King, Madeline Stebbins & Olivia McKennon, OU Nightly

Honorable Mention, Radio Hard News Reporting, Molly Evans, A New Kind of Classroom



4th Place, Short Form, Hunter Brothers & Kristin Kohlmeyer, Thirty



Best of Competition, Mixed Video, Scott Hodgson & Janelle Barrick, It’s the Music

Award of Excellence, Short Subject/TV Half Hour, Kyle W. Bergersen, Red State Blues

Award of Excellence, Narrative Video, Kyle W Bergersen, Welcome to My World of Compromise

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>