Ken Waits Presented with OU Regents Award

Fourteen exceptional University of Oklahoma alumni and friends received Regents’ Alumni Awards for their dedication and service to OU. Presented by the OU Board of Regents and OU Alumni Association, the Regents’ Alumni Award honors the important roles of OU alumni and supporters to the life of the university. A committee formed by the Alumni Association selects the award recipients from nominations made by alumni, friends, and OU faculty and staff. Each year’s recipients receive a plaque and their names are engraved on a permanent plaque in Oklahoma Memorial Union.

This year, MPGE Class of ’83 alumnus Ken Waits, President and CEO of Mewbourne Oil, was honored with this award. Waits has served as a member of President Boren’s Task Force for Energy Education and Research, as chairman of the Industry Advisory Board for the Mewbourne School of Petroleum and Geological Engineering, and as the first chair of the Board of Visitors for the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy.

Upon graduating from OU, he joined Mewbourne Oil Co., one of the largest and most active privately owned oil and gas companies in the business, where he has grown his career for the past 33 years.

Ken serves on numerous boards throughout the industry and his community, including membership in the Society of Petroleum Engineers, American Association of Petroleum Landmen, American Association of Petroleum Geologists and New Mexico Oil and Gas Association. In 2010, he was honored with the Distinguished Service Award from the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy. He is an outstanding representative and supporter of OU and MPGE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *