Gaylord College ranked top in the nation by the Broadcast Education Awards

BEA Festival of Media ArtsOnly two months into the semester and Gaylord College has already won or moved into the finals of some prestigious competitions.

Gaylord’s student-run advertising agency, Lindsey + Asp, has taken home three professional ADDY awards. Two OU rugby promotional videos, as well as their “No Shave November” campaign, won professional-level advertising honors at the awards event. The rugby campaign also received an Uppercase award in October from the OKC PRSA.

Faculty and students earned 19 awards at the recent Broadcast Education Association’s Festival of Media Arts, the most of any school in the nation. In the video competition Gaylord College students won both Best of Festival awards, the competition’s highest honor. Katie Wingfield and Lindsay Webster won Best of Festival in the Animated/Experimental category for their production, “Why I Love Teenage Girls,” and Jason Gwynn won Best of Festival in the Sports category with “Unilever.”

Professor Scott Hodgson and graduate student Janelle Barrick won Best of Competition for their Mixed Video entry “It’s the Music.”

The awards will be presented at a live event in Las Vegas on April 13.

Student Video
Best of Festival, (Animation/Experimental), Katie Wingfield & Lindsay Webster, Why I Love Teenage Girls
Best of Festival, (Spots Category), Jason Gwynn, Unilever
1st Place, Instructional/Educational, Sara Groover & Nick Szabo, Sooner Flight Academy
1st Place, Promotional, Spencer Wehde, Garrett Fox, Brooke Adcock & Pablo Fernandez, Rowing
2nd Place, Promotional, Gaylord Hall Productions Team, More Than Just a Student
2nd Place, Music Video, Paige Powell, With You Now
3rd Place, Promotional, Janelle Barrick, Max Bevan, Lindsay Webster & Miguel McCallum, OU Men’s Golf
3rd Place, Spots, Gaylord Hall Broadcast Advertising Team, Mary Kay
Honorable Mention, Spots, Janelle Barrick & Tripp Lopez, No More Excuses

2nd place, TV Sports Talent , Taylor Newcomb, Taylor Newcomb Sports Talent
3rd Place (tie), TV Sports News Program, Heather Healy, Olivia McKennon & Taylor Newcomb, Sooner Sports Pad
Honorable Mention, TV Sports Story / Feature, Nick Jules, Racing for the Cure
Honorable Mention, TV Sports Talent, Mason Prince, Mason Prince Sports Talent

3rd Place, TV Newscast (4 or 5 days), Lauren King, Madeline Stebbins & Olivia McKennon, OU Nightly
Honorable Mention, Radio Hard News Reporting, Molly Evans, A New Kind of Classroom

4th Place, Short Form, Hunter Brothers & Kristin Kohlmeyer, Thirty

Best of Competition, Mixed Video, Scott Hodgson & Janelle Barrick, It’s the Music
Award of Excellence, Short Subject/TV Half Hour, Kyle W. Bergersen, Red State Blues
Award of Excellence, Narrative Video, Kyle W Bergersen, Welcome to My World of Compromise

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>